Winding Roads

Am reposting the following poem off of Paulo Coelho’s blog. I think it reflects the places in life I have been so many times. There will always be uncertainty and partial blindness to the future, but the important thing is always to know where our heart is, where our truth lies. All through the years, the Lord has never left or forsaken me, even if it seemed many others had. He knows our thoughts, our prayers, our secret hopes and dreams, our personal challenges, and His unconditional Love has always been my inspiration.

My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going,
I do not see the road ahead of me.
I cannot know for certain where it will end.

Nor do I really know myself,
and the fact that I think I am following your will
does not mean that I am actually doing so.

But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you.
And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing.

I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire.
And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road,
though I may know nothing about it.

I will not fear, for you are ever with me,
and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

__________________________________

in Thoughts in Solitude by Thomas Merton

Add your own Note here :)

